IMPORTANT: Centrelink payments in December

by admin on November 24, 2011

Be prepared for the earlier dates for Centrelink payments for the Christmas period. This is NOT an extra payment. Clients and communities will need to budget to make the money last longer. Payments linked to return of forms will also be affected.

Important points for payments from Centrelink

  • An early payment is NOT an extra payment. It is a normal payment paid early because of the public holiday period.
  • Your client will need to budget carefully so that payments last until the next payment is due.
  • No payments will be delayed by public holidays.

For full details, please visit Centrelink

Centrelink offices and call centres will be closed on:

  • Monday 26 December – Christmas Day public holiday
  • Tuesday 27 December – Boxing Day public holiday
  • Monday 2 January 2012 – New Years Day public holiday

Payments linked to return of forms will also be affected.

As a result of the public holidays, payment schedules for customers who receive Newstart Allowance, Youth Allowance and other payments linked to the return of forms will be affected. Review the table below carefully to understand these changes for December.

Date forms and reports normally due Date forms can be returned
Monday 19 December Monday 19 December
Tuesday 20 December Tuesday 20 December
Wednesday 21 December Tuesday 20 December
Thursday 22 December Wednesday 21 December
Friday 23 December Wednesday 21 December
Monday 26 December Thursday 22 December
Tuesday 27 December Friday 23 December
Wednesday 28 December Wednesday 28 December
Thursday 29 December Wednesday 28 December
Friday 30 December Thursday 29 December
Monday 2 January Friday 30 December
Tuesday 3 January Tuesday 3 January

If you do not need to return forms or report your earnings before getting paid, your payment dates may change in December. This applies to:

  • Family Assistance
  • Parenting Payment
  • Pensions
  • Pensioner Education Supplement
  • Assistance for Isolated Children
  • ABSTUDY
Normal payment delivery date Revised payment delivery date Next normal payment date
Wednesday 21 December Wednesday 21 December Monday 2 January
Thursday 22 December Thursday 22 December Tuesday 3 January
Friday 23 December Thursday 22 December Wednesday 4 January
Monday 26 December Friday 23 December Thursday 5 January
Tuesday 27 December Friday 23 December Friday 6 January
Wednesday 28 December Wednesday 28 December Monday 9 January
Thursday 29 December Thursday 29 December Tuesday 10 January
Friday 30 December Friday 30 December Wednesday 11 January
Monday 2 January Friday 30 December Thursday 12 January
Tuesday 3 January Tuesday 3 January Friday 13 January

 

 

 

{ 16 comments… read them below or add one }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: